louielouie

By louielouie

The Moss Heights

I was back in 'the old country' today at lunchtime and was struck by the total transformation of these high rise flats.

Admittedly, a clear blue sky with fluffy clouds helps any picture along but I think the old Moss Heights look great these days.

You see, The Moss Heights are very dear to me. My school friend Grant lived just about dead centre in this picture at 100 Moss Heights Avenue and his parent's house became the epicentre for many of my adolescent adventures. It was less of a home and more of a community centre for quite a few of us.

The first band I was in 'Kicker' rehearsed in here! There were the regular Saturday night Parties where I 'spun my first discs' on the wheels of steel. I learned to shoot an air rifle in this flat. I first heard King Crimson, Uriah Heep, Yes, Genesis, Queen, Bowie, Chic and Donna Summer in here.

I could go on but snapping this Blip today took me back to all those (and many many more) happy memories.

They're knocking flats like these down all over Glasgow but not these ones I'm glad to say.

They really should put a wee round blue plaque outside number 100?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.