Carmael Thumbprint Cookies

I've been working on using the goodies my family sent me at Christmas time. Hard job, I know, but I'm surviving. ;)

I got a can that looked like sweetened condensed milk, but was called Dulce de Leche Caramel. So what's a girl to do with a can of caramel? Yes, I just ate a spoonful, but then I needed another use. I found a recipe for these thumbprint shortbread cookies that are baked first and then filled with caramel. The Thai friends that were cooking with me suggested we put blueberry jam on some of them. So we did.

I was very impressed with my bakers-in-training. I just provided the ingredients, recipe, and instruction from time to time, and they did all the rest. One friend was a 65 year old grandma who lives around the corner. She insisted on helping through every step and did a great job. It was the first time making cookies for some of these friends, and they are already asking about other recipes. I love being able to share a favorite hobby with friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.