weewilkie

By weewilkie

The morning commute to work

Blue sky, smoking breath and a blindingly low sun this morning. I squint my way doon the road to the subway. After getting a ticket I find the Outer Circle closed and am, along with other sardinistas , squeezed into a tin tube and set rattling the long way round to my stop.

This kind of thing would have driven me demented in the past. I'd lose the heid because things weren't happening the way I thought they should. More often than not I'd make an utter arse of myself by getting angry or huffy. Eejit that I was.
I'm by no means past getting stressed out now, but it's no my default any mair.
The magic is Mindfulness.
I can recognise triggers inside my ain napper that cause me to get wound up. I now see that I'm daein it to myself. It's nothing to do with whats going on in the world around me. The world around doesny gie a monkey's about how I'm responding to a particular event. It willny change cause I've gotten angry about it, all that'll change is I will hurt and harden inside and , mair than likely, act like dobber.
So, I breathe; and breathe again and see that's it's heid shite going on. Heid shite that I've mistaken in the past to be 'how things are', rather than just thoughts barb-fishing for emotions. Bringing Mindfulness to these thoughts I can shoogle them loose as the passing yip-yap that they are. The world continues to no gie a monkey's about me, but I'm far mair content about it.

Back to the subway and on the long way round I met a colleague and had a great wee chat about this and, indeed, that. One that had me smiling when I eventually got off. This supposed frustration to my commute to work actually turned into having a nice wee chaff with someone I've no seen in a while. Excellent. No that the outside world gies a monkey's, right enough.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.