Not just letters home

By haylo53

That's Life

I finally finished my French classes (and passed: yay!) and have been looking for ways to keep improving. I'm convinced that this will involve watching a lot of badly dubbed films and playing various board games in French all day long, and I also presume it might help if I read a bit. Unfortunately Brussels is not the cheapest place to buy books and I've been feeling none too enthusiastic to pay over the odds for a book that I don't really fancy reading anyway. What to do, what to do...

Enter Pêle-Mêle, a used book & game store in Ixelles which sprawls across two floors on Chaussée de Waterloo. As its name suggests, it's a bit of a disordered mess but the sections are actually relatively easy to navigate. It's also one of the biggest used bookstores I've ever been to- in addition to all the French titles (many of which are under €2), there are sections with English, Italian, German, Spanish and Portuguese books as well. I happily spent €3.20 on two books (but sadly left without French Scrabble, which I'd been hoping to find) and am very much looking forward to going back if when I finish reading them.

Oh yeah, and the photo. In addition to all the books, they also have free wifi and these cool chairs! What's not to love?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.