Santana

By Santana

The Leyland Clock in Kendal

I was in Kendal this morning and parked next to the Brewery Arts Centre. In front of the Centre stands a pylon to which the clock is attached. A slate slab nearby contains the following explanation:

"THE LEYLAND MOTORS CLOCK

This clock was originally located on the A6 road near Shap Fell. It was one of seven clocks erected at prominent locations on major trunk roads in 1931 by Leyland Motors Limited. The clock was relocated to this site in 1973 and refurbished in 1996 by enthusiasts as part of the celebrations to mark 100 years of British Commercial Vehicle Manufacture.

This stone donated by The Shap Memorial Trust"

I thought that I should try to show the clock as if I had found a photograph taken in the year it was erected. Lightroom came to my aid with its 'Antique Light' preset.

Today I learnt that blipping can have a cost. In another part of Kendal I got so engrossed in trying to capture (unsuccessfully) one of the alleys which lead off the main streets (known locally as 'gunnels', I believe), that I returned to the car park ten minutes after my ticket expired. As luck would have it, a warden had spotted my error and had just finished printing my ticket when I arrived. My first in nearly 40 years of driving but no one to blame except me!

Slightly took the edge off what was otherwise a good day, with glorious spring sunshine lifting spirits.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.