Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

First

coat ragged
and dusty
from a long
winter roost
first butterfly


Last year it was April 3rd, this year March 3rd.

Last year a Peacock, this year a Small Tortoiseshell. Albeit a rather bedraggled example that looks like it's been trying to transmogrify into a Comma over the winter.

I hadn't been expecting the first butterfly of the year today, but while I was out walking on the moor I could feel the temperature rising, so I kept my eyes open. A hunch took me to Hallcliffe Community Garden and as soon as I stepped in a Small Tortoiseshell flew past me. It took a few near misses and fifteen minutes of patient stalking to finally get a picture of it nectaring on the crocuses.

On the moor, it was a good day for birds. The Curlews are back and settled, as are the Lapwings. A pair of Stonechats, a little Wren and a gaggle of Greylags added to the fun.

And the first 7-spot ladybird of the year too. No frogspawn yet though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.