Into the mountains- Ben Lawers

Snow fever. Well, I don’t know if there is such a thing but it suddenly struck me today that this winter will have passed without me ever walking on snow.

Yet I could see the stuff tantalisingly close from the house. But distance is deceptive. No matter, on a sudden impulse after lunch we threw all our walking stuff into the back of the car, hats, and gloves boots, ski poles, anoraks determined for a hike up Ben Lawers, ( well among the foothills), for it is the highest mountain in the southern part of the Scottish Highlands and the 10th highest in Britain.

Well we got up to Glen Lyon, having missed the turning for the Ben Lawers car park ( its been changed since we were last there) and started to climb into our gear and I said: “Where are my boots?”

Oh dear! In the rush to get away they had been left on the doorstep. So the hike turned into a gentle walk ending with tea and scones in the Falls of Dochart Inn in Killin.

Pix in blipfolio marked in the mountains

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.