Crocuses

The crocuses are fully open now, whenever there is some sun, while the snowdrops are still going strong.

I spent the morning on an HMRC form to register my Rotary club's trust for gift aid. Like many such forms it combines unreasonable demands for precision with logical errors.

Although I still think of myself as English, I was annoyed by the HMRC guidance that my Scottish trust "must be able to show it meets the definition of a charity under the law of English (sic) and Wales." For Scottish charities "In effect they need to show that, if they were based in England or Wales, they would be recognised by the Charity Commission as a charity under the law of England and Wales." Recognition by the Office of the Scottish Charities Regulator isn't good enough it seems. Grrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.