CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The big sky over Michinhampton Common

After picking up Woodpeckers from her second job of the day near Brimscombe, I drove her over to Nailsworth so she could sort out a different job issue. Being freelance and wearing many hats is fraught at some times, and seems to take up far too much time that should be time for our selves.

On the way back I suggested stopping for a few minutes on the top of the Cotswold hills on Minchinhampton Common only a coupe of miles away from home. On the way to Nailsworth we noticed the massive sky and the amazing clouds that seemed to be climbing high in the sky. I had also thought of the skylarks that sing so beautifully as they fly high above the open grassland which is maintained by the Natiuonal Trust in its traditional ways, allowing such wildlife to thrive.

I recognised some people flying their model aircraft and we drove fairly close to them and parked beside the lonely single track road. The small model helicopter was being chased by its operator's little dog who ran round and round as it hovered thirty feet up in the air.

I got out for a breath of fresh air with my camera and as I did so I was delighted to hear the song of the skylarks who also flutter high above the grassland. They are one of my favourite birds and I will be back as I do every year to search them out and hopefully catch them with my lens.

As I prepared to return home and get ready for the big Council meeting in the evening I couldn't resist trying to record the amazing array of cloud formations all around us. This is just the view towards the north at one moment in time. The meeting went well, and as I expected I have taken on the chairing of another working group which could be critical to our town's future. A big day, and many more to come, at least for a few months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.