Color in the house: Merkkarit

Merkkarit aka Merirosvorahat. Pirate coins in English. Candy from my childhood that has made a comeback. We always seem to have them in the house. The flavors are fruit, cola and salmiakki (traditional Nordic candy) salty liquorice flavored with ammonium chloride. Salmiakki is my favorite! My husband eats one red fruit and one salmiakki at the same time :-). This candy came back because of the social media. People kept telling how much they miss the strong salmiakki.

The bowl is Iittalas Mariskool, another traditional Finnish design bowl that you can find in almost every household. They come in endless colors. Mine is a gift. It's the only one I have. Some people collect Mariskools.

--------------

Sunset is still my favorite color, and rainbow is second.
Mattie Stepanek

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.