hildasrose

By hildasrose

Mom at 365

Yesterday I gave you all my Dad, today, (Day 365!) I give you my Mom. I am sure you can work out that this is not my Mom as she is now, but as she was when she was 21 in 1952. My Dad took this photo and would have developed and printed it in my Grandparents' back bedroom. I've got lots of little tiny photos which are the product of Dad's photography skills, but this one obviously merited special attention and was enlarged to what looks like a bit bigger than A4. There's also another lovely one in the family archive of Mom in her bathing suit and rubber swimming cap preparing to dive off a high board at some open air swimming pool somewhere. I'll try to find that one for another occasion.

Dad was fascinated by my new camera when I showed it to him on Sunday and was asking all sorts of questions I had to rely on Super handyman husband to answer. I think he was really pleased that I am at last taking an interest in photography (of sorts!). That's all thanks to Blip and some of the wonderful photos I have seen in your journals. You have really inspired me to try to do better with my images and also you have encouraged me to be more reflective and do a bit more writing than I've done for years. All in all, Blipping has had a tremendous influence on my life and I'm looking forward to the next 365!

I've always struggled with the feeing that my Mom and Dad have always been waiting for me to do something - I don't know what, but I've tried very hard now for 58 years 348 days for them to be proud of me. Maybe they are, but they've never told me, so I carry on trying…

Anyway, I've reached 365 and am feeling pleased with myself at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.