Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

The Wire in the Blood

Really pleased when RCB got his Jay blip early today. Firstly because it's actually the first Jay we've seen this year which for a bird we'd consider a garden regular is a bit odd, but secondly it let me mooch round the house and settle down with my book.

Been going through a bit of a reading phase the last six months. Worked my way through Harlan Coben, then Jo Nesbo, then Lee Child and now I'm onto Val McDermid. Being your total pedant I tend to read an author's books in chronological order which for Val McDermid meant starting with her Lindsay Gordon series. I've got through the first three and can't say I'm impressed the fourth book isn't actually available in any Perthshire or Hertfordshire Libraries, so stalled for a bit. Her second series was the Kate Brannigan series, a bit better I've read the first two books and at least I feel reading the remainder won't be a chore, but being more readily accessible in Perthshire, stalled for a bit here too. Her third series was the Tony Hill and Carol Jordan series. Mrs L seems to have bought quite a few of those including a compendium containing the first (The Mermaids Singing) & fourth book in the series! The fourth being the first in the compendium and the first being the second!! Anyway I started The Mermaids Singing on the train to Perth and couldn't believe it was by the same author, significantly more depth and complexity. Had to wait our return to Hertfordshire to read the second - The Wire in the Blood and it's keeping up the same standards. Never seen the TV series, perhaps that'll need investigating too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.