JClemo

By JClemo

Somewhere over the rainbow

My normal workflow for Blipfoto thus far has been to take a bunch of shots throughout the day (I've actually been doing this long before I started Blipfoto) and then go through them at the end of the day and pick the one that is either my favorite or that which I think represents the day the best. Well today, I only took 1 shot this morning and I think it is THE photo of the day.

This is Horse Butte right on the edge of the Deschutes National Forest. It also happens to be right on the edge of the rural development I live in about 3 miles from the edge of Bend city limits. The clouds have finally lifted in Central Oregon and I was treated with this lovely rainbow as I was driving in to work this morning. I just had to stop and capture it. What a treat! I think it portends good luck for my future. (Sewing machine victory perhaps???)

In case you are wondering this butte looks so red because it's an old volcano and it's completely lava rock. If you hike to the top you can hike down into the old caldera. It's pretty cool. The city of Bend used to dig on the East side (facing) and use the rock on the streets for traction when it gets icy in the winter. They've stopped doing that since the 90's, but the butte retains the erosion and shape from all that mining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.