Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Shoot thy neighbour - Take 2

We are lucky to have really nice next door neighbours on both sides. At the moment we live in the house I grew up in. My dad remarried and lives in East Lothian and, just over a year ago, we sold our flat in town and started renting this place off my dad as th ehigh school here is better than the one Maddy would have gone to. It is the same neighbours that were here when I moved out fourteen years ago. On one side we have Dave and Jean and their daughters who moved in when I was about thirteen or fourteen, and on the other Ken and carole and their kids who must have moved in when I was about 15 or 16.

About a year after I moved into town my dad told me that Ken had got a publishing deal for a book. I duly bought it when it came out but it was Sci-fi. I wasn't the hugest Sci-fi fan. I had enjoyed Dune, a couple of Iain Banks Sci-fi books and a couple of Philip K Dick novels but not much else in the genre had really done much for me. Anyway I didn't get round to reading Kens first book until about a month or so before his second one came out. I decided I'd better read it so I could make up my mind as to whether to buy the second one. I read it and loved it so bought the second as soon as it came out. Ken now has ten full novels and three novellas published and I have bought them all as soon as the hardback versions came out. the only exception to this is the latest one which Ken was kind enough to give me a free copy of.

this photo is from th edust cover of the latest one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.