Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Landing Over London 2

I flew back to London as a passenger (aka: deadheading). I slept the ENTIRE flight, until the 30 min before landing announcement. I woke up refreshed, for which I was thankful as I had a 5-hr drive to York today. Tomorrow I will be attending a funeral there.

We landed at just after 10am. My seat was facing backwards, so I got some interesting pictures on this very clear morning. This view is facing north over the River Thames, with Tower Bridge towards the right. You can also see the Tower of London just to the west of the bridge, The 'Gherkin' building north of the river, the Shard to the south, and St Paul's cathedral to the far left, north of the river.

The Shard is a new 87-storey skyscraper, currently the tallest building in Europe. It stands 306 meters (1004 ft) high and it's been open just over a year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.