Grimsayer

By Grimsayer

A grim old day

It rained and then it rained. We did get as far as walking briefly on the beach at Baleshare - curiously busy with a group of ten soldiers using land yachts which looked fun if it has been a half decent day. Certainly the speeds they got to were quite impressive.
For today's blip I resorted in the end to rummaging through our Iron Age pottery sherds to find the best one and to my mind this is it. Two days ago I blipped with a photograph of the Archaeologist's Apprentice at work and it was precisely there that I found this a few weeks ago.
It isn't a very big sherd but it is quite delicate and what is amazing to me is that it is at least 1200 years old. Someone prized possession back then becoming a prized possession again now -the continuity of history!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.