Ash Wednesday

I was so busy faffing around with lightsticks yesterday, I forgot it was Pancake Tuesday. I'm hoping no pancakes means I get a free pass from observing Lent. (As if that was ever going to happen. Unfortunately, I have no vices left to give up).

But for those of you who like your opportunities to be denial-based , forty days of abstinence starts today. According to Twitter's Lent Tracker, all the usual suspects are high on the list - chocolate, alcohol, fags, red meat, coffee, and swearing.

But the top 100 include some more surprising choices - shopping, the gym, selfies, complaining and sarcasm all caught my eye for some reason.

This is Richard, the most photographed fishmonger in Edinburgh, hoping fish sales will be good for the next forty days.

Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.