Observatory

By trimbolim

Home Fire

The day threatened to end without a remarkable visual event, so I created one here in the fireplace. It seemed appropriate since the air is still very chilly for March in Virginia and the children, mercifully, went to bed without much argument. My wife and I cracked open a '94 port that had been sitting around for a few years waiting for the right occasion. We decided that the bitter cold, warm fire, and peace and quiet was all the occasion we needed.

I'm trying to let go of the winter (although a review of my browser history would show a lot about Vermont and Quebec ski resorts) and embrace the spring. We have nothing yet planned for spring break and our attempts to find lodging in Yellowstone are going nowhere.

Family plans aside, I seemed to have registered myself for 2 bike events (one century), an obstacle race, 2 running events, and a triathlon (sprint) all before mid-June. I guess I've personally got the spring booked already.

My local bike club will start group rides in 2 weeks which seems unreal since it was 1 degree yesterday morning but that should get my riding in good enough shape for the triathlon and the 100 mile ride (both in June.) I've been keeping up well with running through the winter to point that I'm in better shape for that than at any point during the season last year. My strength/weight training has also been far more consistent than ever this winter, so I'm looking forward to a strong start to the warm weather activities.

Do I sound disciplined and energetic? Well, I may be, sort of, but I'm still a giant procrastinator and I've been procrastinating swimming (who wants to be wet when it's one degree outside?) A big goal this year was to learn a proper freestyle stroke with a coach and really work on it. I just found a class in DC that starts at the end of the month. I guess I should register and get myself in a pool before then and do some work.

But just now, I'm sitting in front of this fire, this hardworking fire, sipping a lovely port which by the way, goes very well with the dark chocolate with the chunks of sea salt in it.

Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.