Remember that you are dust

Today has been great and then not so much.

My computer is giving me trouble still. I have never been completely happy with this machine.

First thing this morning though, I went with Mark, my CycleDellic partner, to organize, inventory and buy stuff. Had a good time not worrying about computers or databases or phone calls or giving my expert opinion.

The afternoon returned to "work." Computers not working. No one to ask. Explaining why other things are the way they are.

Dinner and a hurried bike ride to church for Ash Wednesday services.

"Remember that you are dust and to dust you shall return." Little kids with ash crosses on their foreheads. And Anna Grace a little more than a month ago had a baptismal cross on her forehead. Tears in my eyes.

Homily about we are all in this life together. All make mistakes. Returning to dust is not a threat but a promise. Good news.

Communion. Laurence played The Old Rugged Cross. Hymn at my Grandma's, Grandpa's and Dad's funeral. The Word made flesh came full circle in this hour.

Thinking about it now I fight hard to keep emotions at bay. I am glad that Ash Wednesday comes but once a year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.