Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Voodoo

Spent the day at a conference in Portland. After dinner we drove over to Voodoo Doughnuts for some serious sugar loading. Always a fun place to go.

The conference was very good. Lots of provocative discussion designed to make one think deeply about their work and how they engage the world. For me it was all about the notion of one's "way of being" in relation to their professional and personal existence. The authentic self seems like such a simple notion, but I actually think it is quite a complex concept that not many ever fully wrestle. What does it mean? What should it mean in regards to the work I do? In regards to how I spend my time with family?

Perhaps the single item that sticks with me the most from the day is this:
"Too late comes too soon..."

Share yourself with those around you. Do the things you know you need to do. Tell your kids you love them. And your spouse. And your Mom. And your Dad. And your sister and your brother. And your friends. And probably your dog, too. Be generous to a stranger. It will be too late too soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.