Normal weather has returned

In contrast to the past few days, today was sunny, warm with a welcome breeze to help dry out flooded land and homes. Normal weather has returned.

I gladly took up the offer of a quick trip out to the Waimak (Waimakariri River) this evening. It's running high and a bit dirty due to all the rain.

No fishing or mucking around with rods and lines for me. The flow was swift, the river dirty and not suited to a woman with a partially healed busted foot.

I tapped out an email to Dad, took some photos, watched the fisher/hunter work a different set up and took a little wander on my crutches to investigate under the motorway bridge. I said I'd be sensible and that mostly happened. I returned with dry feet ;-)

The sky looked magnificent as we left

Tomorrow I'll work from home. The forecast is good and I'll be able to open up the house, make the most of the good weather and help dry out where my emergency earthquake repairs didn't hold.

I'm pleased with how much has dried today. The water trapped above the bay windows upstairs, well that might be an interesting medium term proposition until full repairs are done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.