Child of Larry!

This kookaburra is just over a year old now. He first came to our garden in January last year and visits nearly every day with his parents, Larry and Shilo.

Larry is an extremely tame kookaburra who has always allowed me the honour of hand-feeding him, and Larry's mate, Shilo, has recently taken food from me as well, although she is still very hesitant.

As yet, I haven't hand-fed their baby. I took some close ups today whilst standing very close to him on the back veranda and he didn't seem bothered at all by the clicking of the camera. Perhaps he will become more tame as he gets to know me better.

I had other photos that I liked better, (they were close ups), but chose this one to show you how out of proportion a young kookaburra is. Look at the big head, small body and pigeon toes! He's such a sweetie though, and he will balance out a bit as he grows.

I've had a very busy day today and it's now after 10 pm, so I'm off to bed. I've had a quick look through the thumbnail photos for today and will be back to visit journals in the morning. I've spotted some very interesting photos!

PS ~ A year ago today I added a rather lovely photo of Miss Tibbs! >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.