The Blues!

Today was the day of the twins first National Level figure skating competition. A lot of hard work, sweat and a few tears have gone into the training for today and the twins were as keen as mustard to get on with things.

We travelled to the rink and music playing, little people singing in the back of the car it was lovely to see their enthusiasm. We arrived and made our way inside, all new to us all and a huge step up in scale to anything we had been used to before. Dad was kit man, dresser, hair stylist, make up artist and cheerleader as the day progressed. The bold boy does not do nerves, he just gets on with everything, he had a heavy fall during the warm up and was slow to get up off the ice. Helpless I looked on as he skated to the side of the arena and talked to his coach. It really is just like watching the professional events, a full panel of judges, computerised, the competitors away with their coaches away from the spectators, I would have been totally overawed... He was last to skate in his class, watching the gulf in standard from anything he had experienced before was immense, he took to the ice, waited to be introduced patiently leaning casually on the barrier holding hands with his coach and listening to last minute tips. I know I am biased but despite it being so new, so big, so daunting and despite his fall in warm up he skated out of his skin.

Mimi was excited but I could tell was very nervous, there was a large audience of skaters, parent and general spectators expectantly watching every skater intently, she was a little distressed by the ambient noise for as many of you will know she is unilaterally deaf. She warmed up and looked totally intimidated by the standard around her during the warm up. As she took to the ice first in her class her beautiful dress shimmering under the bright lights. She started strongly but it was obvious as she traversed to the far end of the rink she wasn't comfortable and then it happened, her timing out, an element missed and she struggled to get it back. as she returned back towards my vantage point she seemed comfortable again and caught her timing and finished well. She skated off and was embraced by her coach but even from the length of the rink I could see the tears were falling. She donned her training jacket and skate guards and she and Ash came down to where I was and the flood gates opened, her score in and she had been hammered for the missing element and the timing having been thrown off for the remainder of the routine. She confirmed what I suspected that as she skated to the far end of the rink she lost her music, unable to hear it properly and as a result lost her concentration.. I was nearly in tears for her but Ash spoke gently with her and explained how well she had done, how beautifully she had skated and for a first time out she had done very very well.

It is anarchic but you are not allowed to photograph at these events. There is a professional photographer there and surprise surprise the cost of the shots are exorbitant, sad to say I cannot share my pride in how professional they looked despite their tender years. I am not going to rant but it saddens me in this day and age that I cannot take photographs of my own twins on one of the landmark days of their young lives. I am bursting with admiration at their courage to skate in front of such a large crowd, at their talent, and in particular for Mimi, it would have been so easy for her to skate off and not finish but her tenacity, fortitude and down right gumption humbled me... a lesson from my baby girl...

Enjoy the stormy sky, a brief respite inthe rain that blighted the day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.