Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Snowdrop

Many, many thanks for all of your kind attention to yesterday's blip. It has sat at No 2 in Spotlight most of the day and now means that my top 15 most favourited images all have at least 10 hearts each. I am so honoured that you should enjoy my images to this extent. I also must again say how I wish I could find more time to comment on your journals. Unfortunately time does seem to be at a premium at the moment.

I've been a bit late in seeking out snowdrops this year. There was precious little time before the California trip and since coming back I've struggled to find any good examples. Even when I cam across some today they were behind a hastily erected fence to prevent trampling. Thankfully the odd clump lay close enough to allow some photographs.

I purposefully isolated one and focused on the green petal marking, using a wide aperture to throw the majority of the petals out of focus. I wondered if there were a special name for the petal mark but I couldn't find any reference to one. I did find that lovers of snowdrops are called 'galanthophiles'. I'm definitely one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.