Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Dinner

A dreich day in which my only foray was to the supermarket was also one in which I felt too wabbit (good Scots word) after yesterday's tooth trauma to think of photography - until this evening, when I thought my dinner looked good enough for a picture as well as being good enough to eat.

So: baked salmon with a topping of yogurt, Moroccan spices, parsley, breadcrumbs and lemon juice, accompanied by french beans anointed in a little lemon and tarragon olive oil and mashed potato with garlic chives (no, I'd never heard of them before today - they're tasty). The plate I bought years ago in a supermarket in Rouen while shopping with #2 son who was living there at the time, and the tablecloth came from a shop in Redon, in the very south of Brittany, where I spotted it while returning to my digs after one of the outings of our school French exchange. The bottle in the centre of the table is an old Limoncello bottle filled with chilled water; the wine - out of shot - was a very pleasant Portuguese white with a flinty taste. (I don't cut out wine in Lent)

And the candle? It lives on the windowsill, where we light candles at dinnertime all through the winter because it's so black otherwise. I moved it to cast a little more light on the plate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.