Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Giving to the Missions

Continuing the Lent theme from yesterday, I raked around at home and unearthed this 'Certificate of Rescue and Baptism' from the 1950s. They were much prized possessions when I was at school because on a donation of half a crown, you became the 'Rescuer of a Babe' which - and this is the important bit - you got to name :-)

In this case, my chosen name was Rosemary.

I seem to remember a Florence as well, which was also the name of my favourite doll. I kind of hope the naming part wasn't true and was just a way of personalising it for us. I'd hate to think of children actually being baptised with some of the obscure Saints' names we came up with!!

It was all done with the very best of intentions I have no doubt, but it looks like it comes from a whole other world. Suppose it does really.

Toying with a 40 day Lent Blip mini challenge. Not sure if I could keep it interesting though. I'll need to have a little think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.