Trudieva

By TrudievA

Cake

Today was a great day. I have been a member of a forum for Dutch moms for over a decade. We talk about the good things in life and the bad, our kids, things we like or dislike, our kids, we show pictures, pictures of our kids, etc. It's most about our kids.
Today we had planned an official meeting with the women of my forum. Not all of them, but the ones who felt comfortable enough to show themselves in public :-). Since I was visiting in the Netherlands, I took the opportunity to meet my forum friends. One of the members has her own store in cake decorating accessories and she organizes cake decorating workshops. So today was a day of meeting IRL and cake decorating and it was Fun with a capital F.
Honestly, I started out pretty good with the lemon cream filling and the marzipan cover that I made orange with food coloring as a tribute to the Dutch. Then my cake needed to rest in the fridge for a while and we had lunch. After lunch we picked up the cake decorating, but I had an interesting conversation with some of the moms in the kitchen. So one of the other moms finished decorating my cake with my permission.

This is the result. Isn't it awesome? A combination of Dutch (orange and the royal crown) and American (flag and stars) decorations with a touch of lemon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.