ninniex

By ninniex

Do I look GORGEOUS??

Saturday afternoon - we had clouds and the first cool day for AGES! Off I go to the river looking for yachts, kite surfers, sail boarders but there wasn't much happening. I sat waiting for a while then a group of swans, seagulls and ducks arrived. I took quite a few pics but when I was looking through, this one made me snort my cuppa!

Our State Emblem:

The Black Swan is the only entirely black-coloured swan in the world
In adult Black Swans the body is mostly black, with the exception of the broad white wing tips which are visible in flight. The bill is a deep orange-red, paler at the tip, with a distinct narrow white band towards the end. Younger birds are much greyer in colour, and have black wing tips. Adult females are smaller than the males
Black Swans form isolated pairs or small colonies in shallow wetlands. They pair for life, with both adults raising one brood per season. Eggs are laid in an untidy nest made of reeds and grasses. The nest is placed either on a small island or floated in deeper water. The chicks (cygnets) are covered in grey down and are able to swim and feed themselves as soon as they hatch. i]
(info - Australian Museum Website)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.