WhatTheJules

By WhatTheJules

Drought Resistant

I LOVE succulents! I have a plan for the patio to plant a batch of them. I need to get to Hone Depot to get my plan going. It's just around the corner.
I am going to get pots I can attach to the rail of the balcony. I am going to use a spray paint on them that will collect the light all day and glow at night. I think it will be lovely if I do it right. It will be tacky if I do too many or place them wrong.
My OCD is working overtime planning this, which may be why I haven't gone ahead and done it. It has to be perfect.

Anyway, I will plant drought resistant plants. You may or may not have heard that California is in the midst of a terrible drought. I would argue that the drought we had several years ago never ended. As long as we live in a desert or step region that requires us to divert water from other places to sustain our population, we are in a drought. If we can live only on water we gather locally, we are not in a drought. That's one woman's crazy opinion.

Want to avoid drought? Don't build major metropolitan areas in deserts.

This beautiful plant doesn't require much water. See his plump leaves? Those are cells filled with moisture. Watch his leaves and he will tell you when he is thirsty. We use reclaimed water for landscaping here so he gets watered more than he really requires.

Speaking of California; we had what is considered a small earthquake which was centered at the major intersection .16 miles north west of us. It was a 3.2 and it hit last night. I'd have to check my twitter feed @julianna12369 for the F-bomb I dropped when it felt like my building was lifted up and dropped to the left then pushed back again to the right with a bang and a crack.

I am in the 4th floor (top) of a building meant to move instead of break in a quake. Move it did. Not to mention the high water table we sit on. Always good times when we get a quake.

We seem to have a rather active fault here in the Marina Del Rey/Venice/Playa Vista area. I've felt more quakes in the 2 years I've been here than my 44 years combined.

Back in the early 7o's there was a large, famous earthquake in Sylmar, CA. I lived in Sylmar when the quake hit. I was young and have few memories of it, but we lost everything. I am no stranger to quakes. They fascinate me more than scare me. What scares me is when they take a long time to stop. I like my quakes short and sweet.

Back to planning succulents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.