PhDlife

By PhDlife

Part of the problem or part of the solution

This PhD work has me turning myself inside out and up side down as well as moving in every other direction possible. Today I've been looking at the politics of social work and exploring further neoliberalism. Need I say more!
I've been considering the ideological debates about anti oppressive practice which some suggest has been co opted by the state and turned into an agency of punitive social control.
Yesterday I met and chatted with Varun Vidyarthi the co- author of this book. He was quite inspirational and having developed self help models of support in India for woman living in an oppressive culture had much to say on the subject.
His philosophy is embedded in the principle of change from within ie change in individual and group consciousness that leads to collective capacity for sustainable social change. Not unfamiliar to me in an environmental context but opens the whole debate about ecological social work.
Loving this but boy it tears you apart!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.