weewilkie

By weewilkie

Growth on uprooted tree (metaphor malaise)

Uprooted trees are quite common around here after the biblical rain and strong winds of recent months. So seeing crocuses grow from a fallen tree's roots maybe isn't so unusual. However the thing I've started to notice is my willingness to metaphorise almost everything. Maybe it's an attempt to make quite a dull photo seem interesting, or maybe it's just a by-product of trying to think of something to write about each day.
Ohh look, growth on an uprooted tree (I'LL BE UPROOTED !!)
A green bud on a tree (I'M STARTING A NEW LIFE)
A flock of birds in flight ( OHH, I'M ehh.. FLYING .. NEW .. WINGS .. TAKING ME... TO A NEW NEST !!)
A bus stop ( I'M KINDA AT A STOP WAITING IN THIS HOUSE FOR .. THE BUS OF MY NEW FLAT TO COME ALONG .. NO THE NEW FLAT WOULD BE ANOTHER BUS STOP .. SO, ACH SOMETHING TO DO WITH TRAVELLING !!)
You get the idea, as every extended metaphor becomes more agonised and less applicable. So I need to be wary of over-egging this change in my life. It's going to happen. It is exciting and full of new possibilities. Let that be enough without me getting lost in the potency of quite banal images. That's engagement with too much thinking and not enough getting with what's happening. That would be a real dog's dinner. D'OH !!

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.