The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Arty wild flowers

What a lovely day!
I was sad because I had the opportunity to go to Crufts, but my finances just wouldn't stretch to buying more diesel so I could get there (and the train fares were a joke!) so to compensate I went out with Ethie to look for some spring flowers.
I have been a little concerned this year as I am seeing large amounts of primroses and the Lady's smock is coming on really nicely but I am not seeing many Wood Anemones Anemone nemorosa. With this in the back of my mind Ethie and I went to a roadside verge near Barnes Green which is usually white with them. Sure enough there were some there, but not in the quantities I have seen in other years, I wonder if the warm, wet winter has had anything to do with this.....I really hope not as they are very beautiful, and very typical spring flowers.
Today's blip is my 2014 'arty shot' of a beautiful Wood anemone. I love the exuberant heart shaped stamens frothing out of the saucer of white (or pink) petals like a natural firework, it really is something special, and I have tried to capture that in this shot. I do hope you can see what I am trying to say.
On another note I am running my moth trap for the first time this evening...I am hopeful of getting some moths to show you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.