joolz88

By joolz88

Back in Gear

A couple weeks ago some chucklehead had the audacity to steal my bicycle seat off of my locked up bike, right outside my door, in broad daylight. No idea why anyone would do that...maybe he's constructing a Frankenbike out of stolen parts, maybe his dopey friend dared him, quite possibly his motive was drug related. At any rate, today I went to our beautiful bike repair shop, The Hub, and got a new one. The man who helped me was fantastic. He was welcoming, knowledgeable, and wore sparkly pink fingernail polish. A guy came in while I was there and claimed that he wanted to build a bike from scratch. Well, what do you know about bikes? The guy asked him. I know they have gears, the kid replied. It seemed he had a long way to go. I rummaged through the many seats and found one even more comfortable than the one I had before. Some air in the tires and I was good as new. Splashing through puddles on my way home was immensely satisfying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.