The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Malvern loop

Since we bought a tumble drier in the autumn I've found that it is actually shrinking my trousers. So much so that several pairs have become uncomfortable to wear. As if that wasn't enough to worry about I've also noticed that our bathroom scales have become uncalibrated too.
To take my mind off such domestic technology malfunctions I thought it would be good to go out and do a bit of exercise. There's a nice little 10 mile loop around the hills. It took me twice as long to do as it used to take me to do a 'ten' when I was a schoolboy. But it's a lot hillier and I've only got 2 gears - and I'm 40 years older. Still, we never had apps in those days to gauge our performance so it was only half the fun anyway. My app told me I'd burned 440 calories. Yippee! That's about 2 oz of fat - if I had any to burn. So an unnecessary yippee there I feel.
BTW: Many serious cyclists (the ones in racing shades sitting on a grand's (or two) worth of carbon) are miserable bastards.
They need to get some less serious equipment and spend the rest on joke books or something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.