Memory Lane

Dave and I are going through the process to become adoptive parents at the moment. We're in what is called the Home Study stage... also known as interrogation, as the social workers want to know everything about us.... from our earliest memories to the state of our finances, no stone will be left unturned...
However it's actually quite an interesting thing to do... My session last week consisted of going through my photo album, drinking tea and blethering about what things were like growing up... This weeks session covers the teenage years through to adulthood... so I've been digging through pictures and reminiscing a lot, about friends, some of which I've lost touch with, but many of whom I'm still close to. Past boyfriends, old holidays, the uni years, the drunken parties, the first job...

Patterns are emerging... I'm usually dressed up in some odd costume or outfit... in my pictures, I'm mostly smiling, and I often have my mouth wide open either laughing, or hollering something... and it has made me realise how great photos are, for jogging memories and for recording people and events and securing them in them in your own history... even more of a reason to keep on blipping ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.