..::pixelatedpete::..

By pixelatedpete

end oxford arms investment

Went to town today to get some bits for dinner and found myself surrounded by students protesting about the investment portfolios of some of the Oxford colleges. I'm really pleased these students still protest. Someone has to. There are so many crazy and wrong things going on in the world! If you want to read all about it, I found this:

http://www.timeshighereducation.co.uk/story.asp?storyCode=108671&sectioncode=26

though a search for the title of this blip will bring up more.

They did a short march about town, chanting "What do we want?" to which the reply was incomprehensible, followed by "When do we want it? NOW!". A couple of people I passed asked me "what do they want?". I didn't know either which is why I waited for them to regroup and listen to what they had to say. Apparently grouping outside the Clarendon Building for such protests is quite traditional (on occasion the building is 'occupied' by these protests which is why they locked to gates today). Its an odd choice of building as its Library Administration staff in this old OUP building...

I can't say I'm surprised Oxford colleges have investments in ethically dubious companies, but I am a bit disappointed. Ah well. I'd planned a picture of the flood gates too - the Thames is quite high at the mo', but I've seen it higher.

I pixelated everyone but the banners 'cos I didn't ask anyone about taking their photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.