Approach to Coverdale

The weather didn't turn out to be quite as fabulous as the forecast suggested last night, and certainly nothing like as warm as it's been down south, but I'm not going to complain. It was mild enough to be able to don the shorts on the bike today, although I still needed my winter gloves for most of the time. It felt warm when I stopped in sheltered places but the breeze was quite stiff and holding a bit of a chill, especially on the tops.

I did the route that I almost always use for my first long ride of the year. The only decision was to choose which way around to do it. In the end I plumped for anti-clockwise so as to finish with the wind on my back, expecting the legs to have gone by then. As it turned out I felt fine at the end of my hilly 75 miles so the last couple of weeks of training have reaped a reward already. For the record I went Ilkley-Askwith-Blubberhouses-Pateley Bridge-Lofthouse-Leighton-East Witton-West Grafton-Coverdale-Kettlewell-Grassington-Hebden-Bolton Abbey-Ilkley. It's a hell of a hilly ride!

This shot provides some idea of the kind of roads I'm lucky enough to enjoy riding on in the Yorkshire Dales. Most of my route today was on this kind of lane, virtually traffic-free, lined by drystone walls and with fabulous vistas. I woke up this morning with very little energy and if the weather had been anything less good than it was I might well have blobbed today. A big part of me was, I suspect, demanding a rest. But it had to be done. I seemed to find more energy the further I cycled. Another part of me really needed this today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.