Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

It's been a while.

The last time I held a tennis racquet was 28th March 2013. On 8th April I had my detached retina operation followed on 21st November by my cataract operation. I should be on our annual cross-country ski trip in Norway, but given a complete lack of exercise for almost a year I'm simply not up to it.

So a return to some sort of exercise is required. It took a bit convincing to get me to play tonight, but there didn't seem to be anyone else available. After the initial warm up anyone else would have done an awful lot better than I did. Not sure I even got one ball back over the net, quite sure if I did it went nowhere near where I intended it to go.

Anyway first set, my partner to serve, we won the first game - I didn't touch the ball once. Two hours later this is us walking off court. We'd played three sets, I won two, the tennis was passable, but I was still walking, so that's a result in itself - good to be back.

Earlier in the day RCB and I revisited Lemsford Springs, while the other birders were mainly interested in seeing the Mealy Redpoll, that wasn't on RCB's agenda, as he'd blipped that yesterday, he was after the more common Lesser Redpoll to keep his run of 66 species in 66 days in 2014 alive - the games we play!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.