An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Cathedral through the Poplars...

An uncomfortable day Sunday, with headache and a nagging groggy tiredness. Worrying about certain stuff. I had to go back to bed halfway through the day. It was brilliant and amazing to have been out on Salisbury Plain and the Jurassic Devon Coast but I had to be brought down with a bump at some point!

My Blip yesterday had been a bit lazy and so when it came to late evening, I check the weather forecast. Cloud moving in and so a dullish day for Monday. So, out I go making more effort and go to catch the floodlit Salisbury Cathedral before the plug is pulled at midnight, though on occasion it has been later, as late as one a.m.

This was about my third effort with this one. The tripod at its maximum height as I am looking over a hedge. At full frame it didn't look quite right - it wasn't until editing that the final crop sort of made 'it'.

But yes, the icing on the cake, what makes it sparkle and glow was the car that just suddenly happened to drive down the track that the trees flank, its headlights leaving a gorgeous light-trail, broken up by the tree trunks and with light spillage dappling the shadows.

And it was all that dark orangey dark brown that I always get from a streetlight glinted sky. Which I changed - that took a while and isn't something I'd do every time but here it really worked, making it all ever so slightly Biblical. Perhaps...

Lens is Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8. Go LARGE!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.