GEMAX Photographics

By gemaxphoto

MONOMONDAY: Architecture

Now known as the "Blue Mountains Heritage Hotel & Spa" in Katoomba, this complex dates back to the early 1900's, and was known as "The California" guesthouse.

It has special significance for me, because as a young primary schooler in the 1960's my parents belonged to the Bulli Methodist Couples Club. This club was a social arm of the Methodist (now Uniting) Church, and while my parents may have enjoyed the dinners, balls, and Bible studies, the best thing for us kids were the long weekends away. At the top of the list for destinations was Katoomba. We got to stay at several wonderful guest houses over the years, but "The California" was my favorite. It didn't have the grandeur of "The Carrington", or the fancy SE facing facades of "The Eldon" or "Katoomba Mountain Lodge" in Lurline St, but it had that fantastic round brick turret, and some spectacular views out over the Jamison Valley.

Sadly (though probably fortunately for it's survival), the extensive renovations in the 1990's have not been particularly kind to the architectural heritage of this grand old guesthouse, but whenever I pass it my heart still skips a beat, and I'm 9 again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.