Daveyesdave

By Daveyesdave

Most reliable transport

So here is the thing, I like to do a little bit of road cycling and have a pretty nice bike which probably deserves more rides than what I give it.

So maybe that's why, as a sort of payback, I have endured four flat tyres on the last five outings, or perhaps it is more of a statement on the condition of the roads around Christchurch. Oh yes I was riding through roadworks on this occasion. Either way I am chewing down a bit of bile as I type this. Actually, like most things there is probably more than one cause, and I suspect I purchased a dud batch of tubes and the current tyres aren't robust enough. Regardless I wanted to have more of a work out than for just my thumbs as I once again had to put them to use as tyre-levers.

This picture was taken earlier in the day as I strolled through the Ernle Clark Reserve, which I tend to do most lunchtimes. It is a peaceful spot beside the Heathcote River (a creek really pretending mostly to be what it isn't although it flooded badly last week).

Despite this seemingly contradictory evidence, I am not a shoe-gazer, although the events later in the day dealing with the puncture put me in a dark sort of mood for a while. Still as most photographers would say - you have to keep things in perspective. That's what I am saying. That's all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.