Happy Birthday!

Robin Schulz - Same (Original Mix)

The track doesn't begin to speak until about 1:00 so give it a bit of time.

Hope you had a great day. All the best.

I watched the Baz Luhrmann version of The Great Gatsby today. It's a lot more subdued than Moulin Rouge which isn't saying much. It's still frenetic, over-the-top and really surface (or wonderful eye-candy). I watched it with a close friend and she mentioned there were scenes that weren't in the book. It was easy to identify because at that point the script became terrible and the acting a little non-plus for a "period" film. Having said that, Baz Luhrmann doesn't do period films, he does period themed films. There is no doubt he's an incredibly talented film maker, but I hate that every tom, dick and harry goes into mental mode when his films come out and everyone becomes a film critic overnight (I must be unlucky to keep meeting people like that). It's great that he inspires people to enjoy cinema, but the pretentiousness of some of these people makes my ears bleed (I know cinema because I can name all of his movies..... "Strictly Ballroom, oh yes, STRICTLY BALLROOM! Fabulous!!!!"). Moulin Rouge is terrible, I loathe that film with a passion. There are times when it is totally beautiful and inspiring but were it not for the frenetic editing people would actually see that there is no plot. Thankfully with The Great Gatsby you have F. Scott Fitzgerald.... I did enjoy the film however, I just hate the brouhaha of bullshit that comes from people's mouths and the Australian media that comes in the wake of a release. Australia was a rubbish film, so full of itself. I am Australian so even though that saying I hate his films is considered blasphemous, I'm entitled to an opinion. However, I don't make films and I'm not successful in that field, so who am I to talk?

Baz Luhrmann's Romeo & Juliet was my first exposure into Shakespeare whom I love dearly. It's definitely love / hate relationship. If Michael Bay were to do a musical, it'd look like a Baz Luhrmann film and vice versa. They should make a film together, and I would think that even celluloid or digital streaming wouldn't even be able to hold their nitro glycerin like style.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.