The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Excuse me!....................................

...........................Just exactly who are you??????????
I found this little Zebra jumping spider Salticus scenicuswalking up the wall at work today, and quickly 'bagged' her in a beaker so I could get some shots. I know I blipped the same species about a year ago, but when she looked at me in such a quizzical fashion, I just couldn't resist blipping the same species again.
The Zebra spider is a common jumping spider, often found on walls and fences close to or in human settlements on sunny days.
They have excellent binocular vision, with 2 very large eyes at the front, and 6 others behind!!
Zebra spiders are noted for their awareness of humans, and upon noticing someone observing them will raise their head to look back - just as this little female did today!
They hunt by ambush, stalking their prey in a 'cat like' fashion.
all in all 5 - 7 mm of very interesting (and sweet) spider.
I hope you will agree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.