the colour green

By jukeys

doc

Pierre had a routine doc's appt. this afternoon in Tulette! We were stopped by the Police on the way (just a tad stressful, as you can imagine!).

Pierre was driving my car and the policewoman came up to my window and asked for my papers. Her colleague had to politely point out to her that the driver's seat was actually on the other side. Oh, how we (nervously) laughed.

Anyway, you're meant to have your insurance docs and carte grise in your car at all times here. FAIL. You're also meant to have your up-to-date insurance details stuck on your windscreen (like our tax disc) for ease of reference for the cops. FAIL. Luckily, they were easy-going enough to let us nip back to the house and get these. We could've gotten a fine.

When we returned with the papers, whilst the policewoman was checking them, her colleague wandered round the car and then said my two back tyres need changed immediately and my two front tyres are not the same (?!) so I have to change those too. Again, we could've got a fine apparently, so we got off lightly in the end. The policewoman did say, just before we drove off, that "une voiture anglaise" would be easily recognisable to them next time, so we better get the tyres changed quick smart. It was all I could do not to say "I'm actually Irish!".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.