Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

A First

I'm not very good at this Blipping lark, and I'm not afraid to admit it. So from now on, it might be a case of important events being marked and that's about it.

So for today's blip I had to share this. My first ever event as a navigator, sat in a proper 100% rally car on a "proper" rally.

The photo was taken by my OH, as I'm the one in the silver helmet, in the car! The photo was taken on the first run through Wythop on the Malcolm Wilson Rally.

My driver hadn't competed for a long time, the car had only just been finished and I'd never done a rally before. So the odds weren't exactly good. To finish at least one stage was the aim. To finish at least 4 stages was a dream. To finish the entire rally? Well, we hadn't really thought about that.

We did finish. We finished 59th out of 69 (think 98 started). So, our main objective was accomplished! We also got 3rd in our class. Added bonus! We were also awarded "best presented car at scrutineering" too. So that was the icing on the cake!

I never thought that I would ever navigate for someone who wasn't my OH. I never actually thought I would navigate at all!! It's been 11 years of waiting, but it was worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.