In space, no one can hear you scream

Not that I need or want to scream. Well, except when I watch breakfast TV and have to listen to the presenters interviewing someone and asking the most inane questions imaginable. It's as though they think the audience is too dumb to get the topic at hand so they have to ask silly questions to make it really obvious for us.

Anyway, I don't scream. I change the channel or switch off.

Was at the gym on Sunday, and something that I had observed on and off for some time really came home to me. It's about the unusual pairings that you see in the gym. Whether it''s 2 girls or 2 guys, what you see time and time again is that one of them will be 'fit' in all respects and the other will be, well, how do I say this without being unkind ......... fat and ugly less fit. Think Little Britain's Gym Buddies.

The point I really want to make is that having observed these odd couples for some time now, it's not the fit ones that I admire it's their partners. Example. Sunday, Two guys in the free weights area doing bicep curls with dumbbells. Fit guy is sweating, straining, admiring himself in the mirror with every rep, looking around to check who is watching. Not so fit guy has the same weight on his dumbbell. Is oblivious to his own reflection and everyone else around him and is pumping that dumbbell like its a feather. Who would I rather go out for a drink with?

And the good news is, it will be a lot less work for me to be that 2nd guy than it will be to be the 1st. Set realistic goals for yourself. That's what I say :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.