Ford Capri 'The Car You Always Promised Yourself'

So the advert went when they released the Mk1 to massive acclaim in 1969.

An instant hit they were churned out in various guises until 1986.

I have a real soft spot for a Capri, instantly evoking memories of dubious saturday night telly with the Professionals they were just a little bit cool. Apart from the yellow one my sister had which was clearly very cool ;)

The fact is though they were terrible cars, generally underpowered (even the 2.8i) heavy and had an issue with corners. I would however love a 5.0 v8 conversion if anyone has one kicking about.

The one I have blipped lurks around Mill Rd, I'm not sure of the exact model, I suspect a Mk3 laser. The engine is not very big but the matt black paintwork is pleasingly Mad Max which has to be a good thing. Proper 70's style alloys as well, wolfrace I would hope (and look at those rear arches this thing is built for speed).

Apparently both Jackie Stewart and Cliff Richard had them, I wonder if they matched?

large


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.