Kiteseeker

By Kiteseeker

Riseborough Hall

A gentle cycle on the Vale of Pickering to make the most of the sunshine.

The birds were singing, farmers were ploughing their fields and smoke was swirling above the moors as the old heather is burnt off to encourage new growth for the grouse.

Having attempted to get a shot of the smoke decided it was just too far away. This is Riseborough Hall which sits in an elevated position above Pickering. It always reminds me of 'Jane Eyre' with a fire destroying part of the house in the 1950's. Over the past few years the owners have renovated the barns,walls and ponds (home of the geese I blipped last week). I wonder if and when it will be the turn of the burnt out shell.

The only reason I managed to get this shot is a tree fell down and demolished the exterior wall - so grabbed my chance before it is repaired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.