Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Slash and Burn

Thank you for all your comments, stars and faves for yesterday’s crocus. It crept into the lower reaches of the Spotlight for a while so that was good. Several of you asked about technical aspects of the shoot but there was nothing very special involved. Just a white board and the light from the windows in the conservatory. I shot it hand held using my D300 with the Sigma 50mm macro lens. There’s a shot of the set up here.

Today has been a very dull day and a bit chilly too. They suggested it would brighten up this afternoon but it didn’t happen. I went out looking for a mono shot but remembered this smoky scene that I came past yesterday and thought it might provide a blip if it was still burning. I was pleased to find that it was. As it turns out I’ve left it in colour … well, what colour there is because the smokiness shows up better. There’s a lot of grain as I’ve worked it hard to get some detail in the sky which was as flat as a dab.

Hope your day’s been good where you are.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.