Subseasniper

By BrianHamilton

Edwin P. Hargreaves

The night was never ending, a certain Constable, Edwin P. Hargreaves took a frightening degree of delight at making me as uncomfortable as possible. The incessant tapping of the sap upon the cell door was just a preamble, each time I would lapse into a fitful doze he would enter the cell and shout obscenities to waken me. Although he never actually struck me my nerves were attenuated and shattered by the time morning came. I felt bereft, spirit broken and utterly subjugated by this vile, loathsome individual. And then, when I felt my lot could not become any worse, I was dragged to the magistrate's to face trumped up charges. I felt events were wheeling out of control, that something larger than my existence was about to be dropped and smashed irreparably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.